Travel Accommodations

My trip planning has gone like gang busters, which means for you young folks, that is bad, or good if bad isn’t used anymore, or mega good, or mega bad, if bad is good, if you know what I mean?

Anyway, I’ve been doing a bit of reserving this and that on the Net, with most of my plans going good, or bad, or ….I don’t really understand why things don’t go Tetra-Good? My kids did mention Giga, but that might have meant something else, like arm signals, or knee signals, or your cap, which is not a baseball cap, but a real cap being turned the one way, or the other, which brings me back to it being like gang busters!

“like gangbusters”

 – with great excitement and speed. (The Free Dictionary)
Here is one of my choices of Accommodations in San Francisco (in Danish)
The rooms have everything and nothing, as shown by this photo:
reviews
This particular review shows this hotel’s entire score. Apparently it has wellness, which is good/bad, then Location (belliggenhed) which is a bit better, then the scores drop greatly with Comfort scoring only 1/5, with the notation – Uncomfortable.
I’m not much for wellness, but the location near Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco is appealing to me,
sanremo
while it being uncomfortable, might mean that Wonder Dog, and I might just have to take turns standing up while we sleep!
One of the other, as yet non reserved Hotels is this one here:

It has all the luxuries of home: Fire Ring, Pit Toilets, Scenic Views, plus Sagebrush and Rabbitbrush to break the monotony of the Great Basin sands!

Wonder Dog might just have a sniff around, before we choose our campsite, but I have told him not to play with the Coyotes, unless he tells me about it first!

The final and most exciting of my as yet unplanned accommodations are just a squeal of my tires away from just about anywhere in California:

rest area

I personally like the glitter effect of the sign, almost “Hollywood” in its appearance. (Hollywood is a city in the LA area, see origin of name at end of blog*)

 

These delightful accommodations are spread out all over the Golden State as shown here:

rest area map

www.dot.ca.gov

It is not all fun and games though, as some people think that they can just park their vehicle and take a nap, without having reserved a spot by using their credit card:

no camping

Lucky for Wonder Dog and I, we have a simple way of keeping out undesirable elements:

snakes

A trunk filled with these puppies along with a few rolls of Duct Tape, are all we need to keep out those few people, who want to spoil Rest Areas for the rest of us!

I personally am looking forward to catching a few Zzzzs in the Golden State after a hard day of throwing the old ball around, but I don’t need to tell Wonder Dog about that. He has his own special way of relaxing:

iPhone 23 july 2016 006

In true Glitter Style…….

 

*According to the diary of H. J. Whitley, known as the “Father of Hollywood”, on his honeymoon in 1886 he stood at the top of the hill looking out over the valley. Along came a Chinese man in a wagon carrying wood. The man got out of the wagon and bowed. The Chinese man was asked what he was doing and replied, “I holly-wood”, meaning ‘hauling wood.’ H. J. Whitley had an epiphany and decided to name his new town Hollywood. Holly would represent England and wood would represent his Scottish heritage. Whitley had already started over 100 towns across the western United States.[7][8]

(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hollywood)

 

Leave a Reply

