Tents, Bears and My Sister In-Law

Part of my epic journey will be visiting Yosemite National Park in California. Wonder Dog isn’t especially happy about that prospect due to the fact that bears in the park aren’t behind bars, where they should be!

My Sister in-law is equally appalled at us roughing it in the Great Outdoors, sleeping under the stars.

You see in Denmark, there must be some sort of rule about sleeping outside without a tent. It might be due to the issue of taxation, or the fact that tents protect Danes from the hole in the Ozone Layer, but one thing is certain: When in Rome…..

My wife has found a solution. A lightweight tent found at a local hardware store. Here is a picture of it borrowed from the Home Page:

festival tent

source: haraldnyborg.dk

Weighing just in at 1.7 kilos, you might be fooled at its sturdiness, and its ability to repel California Brown Bears! Taking this along with us will generate Peace of Mind with my Sister in-law, insuring her a number of good night’s sleep while we are away.

I wouldn’t want to let the air out of her balloon, but in Yosemite, the presence of strong smelling things influence if bears are going to visit you, or not. Here is a photo of a friendly bear, waiting for the old Dinner Bell to start ringing:

bear-table

source: redwoodsinyosemite.com

Notice how placid the bear is. There is no danger here, unless you are holding a tube of toothpaste, a salami, or anything else that has an odor, which is interesting to this Brown Bear – it might look Black, but it is called a Brown Bear!

If you had been wise, then you would have followed the instructions associated with the campground:

foodlockerwarningsign

source: marydonahue.org.

It doesn’t state that it was necessary to have a rather flimsy tent from China, purchased in Denmark, brought to the USA, to California, transported up and down the State,while Wonder Dog wondered why we had to listen to my Sister in-law, when I came from California in the first place!

Appeasing the family is a priority, which I hadn’t included in my trip plans. It really should have been my wife, who put her foot down and demanded that we take extraordinary measures to insure our safety while in the wilds of California!

I’ve never really understood why it was necessary to have a tent while camping? In California, we only used a tent while backpacking far away from any road, having it in the event of foul weather, be it wind or rain/snow. I felt that it was effort enough to poke my head out of my sleeping bag in order for my friend to show me the Andromeda Galaxy, or explain about the origin of the Stellar Constellations!

If for some reason, you’ve never heard of Yosemite National Park then you might want to check out this site: https://www.nps.gov/yose/index.htm

I have a few photos from a number of years back, which shows other reasons for having the proper tent while visiting this Grand Old National Park.

img536

This view of Yosemite Falls shows why a tent might be useful! California is usually dry in the Summer months, but having a waterfall rain down on your head, might just justify my Sister in-law’s fears for protection!

img530

This next view is the Classic Valley View, with the great rock face called, El Capitan on the left, Bridalveil Fall on the right, and the Cathedral Rocks above the waterfall.

Here is a live link webcam which shows Yosemite Falls in another way:

https://www.yosemiteconservancy.org/webcams/yosemite-falls

I made a screen shot for those of you having trouble connecting:

webcam

source: https://www.yosemiteconservancy.org/webcams

Many years of drought have altered the way that I remembered Yosemite, but not everything in life, is within our control!

Here are a few more links to webcams in Yosemite:

https://www.yosemiteconservancy.org/webcams/half-dome

https://www.yosemiteconservancy.org/webcams/high-sierra

https://www.yosemiteconservancy.org/webcams/el-capitan

Regardless of waterfalls having water or not, I still am looking forward to visiting this park!

Wonder Dog has made me aware of a must-buy item available on the net.

bear repellent

source: http://www.extendinc.com

He indicates that this product will assure his safety, more than a flimsy tent from Denmark-China, and is already placing his paws on the keyboard, motioning me to whip the old Visa card out and start ordering.

Perhaps Wonder Dog and My Sister in-law should have put their heads together about this part of our vacation.

You never know, I might be able to use it on her when we return to Denmark………

 

 

Leave a Reply

