Youth Has Its Advantages

When I was a bit younger, I worked a job that ran from 11pm to 5am. I used to distribute bundles of newspapers to paper boys and other drivers, who would both deliver and distribute the same items, in and around the City of Sacramento, CA.

Once, I decided to take a trip to Yosemite National Park, after one of my nightly trips. I only had one night off per week in those days, so when I got home from work, I packed my pickup truck, then drove to the National Park (about 4 hour drive). Upon arrival, I ascended Mt Hoffmann – 3307 meters, with it being the geographical center of Yosemite. When I was finished for the day, I found a campsite at Tuolumne Meadows – 2621 meters, and spent the night.

The next day, I ascended Mt Dana – 3962 meters, then drove back to Sacramento, where I was to work again at 11pm. I might have showed up a bit late, if I managed to not hear the alarm, but I still did my job and got home at 5-6am, a bit on the tired side, but filled with the memories of what I had accomplished in so few days!

Here are a few pictures from that trip in 1983:

Views from Mt Hoffmann. The Geographic Center of Yosemite National Park.

I mention it, because I am planning to do the same peak on my upcoming trip?! A few years older, and most definitely wiser, but most certainly more forgetful about that discrepancy between what I think I can do, and what I will end up doing due to my current age.

In my mind, I can do just as much today, as I did back then, but something tells me that there is going to be a knock-down, drag-out fight between my memory and my ability.

One of them is going to win, but it doesn’t matter, as my memory will continue to tell me that it was just as hard when I was younger, and I most assuredly will be able to make it again, regardless of my current age!

I just don’t remember lying to myself as much, when I was younger…….

Leave a Reply

