A Real Checklist

A checklist is a type of informational job aid used to reduce failure by compensating for potential limits of human memory and attention. It helps to ensure consistency and completeness in carrying out a task. A basic example is the “to do list.” A more advanced checklist would be a schedule, which lays out tasks to be done according to time of day or other factors. A primary task in checklist is documentation of the task and auditing against the documentation. – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Checklist

Way back when, I used to hike a lot in California. Some might have called it a hobby, but it was really more of an obsession. I tend to do things like that. Get obsessed. Last year it was writing blogs, but I’ve gotten over that one, you see?

Making lists in advance of an event can be both helpful, and confusing. My wife makes countless number of them, with the rest of the family being held hostage to each new edition.

When I was in my hiking period, I took a lot of them with a friend of mine from Southern California (A-on the list). We split the cost of the many meals, and alternated them along the many days we were out and about in the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range.

Here is one of those lists. Never really being completed, but with a lot of interesting arrows, which I can’t remember why there should be arrows, but of course there should be!

img016

We had to carry everything on our backs for around 7-10 days, showing why the list was so extensive. I also carried a micro tape recorder around with me in order to record my memories of each trip (now existing as mp3s on my  hard drive).

I must say that my current plans to visit California don’t include a list such as this one, but life had gotten less complicated over the years, I think.

It also shows the inner workings of a deranged mind……

Leave a Reply

