Traveling Via USB – Through the Ages

Way back when in the Stone Age, I was dreaming about when we would reach the Bronze Age! No more sticks and stones for me. I was ready for greater things!

Alas. All those photos, that I’ve taken using 35mm Film. Film was something that existed for quite a number of years and which comprises most of my photos before 2005 were taken on Film and still reside on Negatives.

35 mm film is the film gauge most commonly used for motion pictures and chemical still photography (see 135 film). The name of the gauge refers to the width of the photographic film, which consists of strips 34.98 ±0.03 mm (1.377 ±0.001 inches) wide.[1][2][3][4][5][fn 1] The standard negative pulldown for movies (“single-frame” format) is four perforations per frame along both edges, which results in 16 frames per foot of film.[8] For still photography, the standard frame has eight perforations on each side.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/35_mm_film

Negative: In photography, a negative is an image, usually on a strip or sheet of transparent plastic film, in which the lightest areas of the photographed subject appear darkest and the darkest areas appear lightest. This reversed order occurs because of the extremely light-sensitive chemicals a camera film must use to capture an image quickly enough for ordinary picture-taking, which are darkened, rather than bleached, by exposure to light and subsequent photographic processing.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negative_(photography)

Now we are leaving the Stone Age and entering the Bronze Age:

bilka power bank

Source: Bilka.dk

This item is a portable charger for devices using something called USB.

Back in the Stone Age, that is when it first appeared on the scene, it was known as Useless Serial Bus! Mainly because they were slow, and not many devices used them.

USB, short for Universal Serial Bus, is an industry standard developed in the mid-1990s that defines the cables, connectors and communications protocols used in a bus for connection, communication, and power supply between computers and electronic devices.[4] It is currently developed by the USB Implementers Forum (USB IF).

I actually do not own a PC which is new enough to support USB-3, which some might say that I was still in the Stone Age!

No matter. Now I’ve purchased the above “Power Bank” which will allow me to charge my “Cellphone”, “Digital Camera” and “Ipad”. It is so advanced a device that I do not need to take a voltage converter with me to the USA, where there is a large difference between the European and the American Power Definitions! OK Wonder Dog might need a cut and a shave when we return to Denmark, but other than that, I’m not taking anything else with me with the funny shaped plug – Danish Version.

stikprop

Source: http://www.elviden.dk/billige-elartikler/eu-schuko-stikprop-skift-hanstik-eller-brug-en-adapter

I apologize for the many definitions in this blog, and I could have continued, but have chosen not to.

I realize that some of you are sitting in the Iron Age and are laughing your head’s off, at me and my antiquated ideas!

I still might catch up to the rest of you, or I might not. Age is funny like that.

If you still are bored, then try looking at the other fine bargains in this week’s on-line advertisement, from the store where I purchased the Power Bank.

You can also order on-line. With or without a USB-3.0 device!

https://www.bilka.dk/avis?id=d13dc62a

Leave a Reply

