We’ll Always Have Paris

Right. Nicely said by Ingrid Bergman, but honestly. I don’t believe a word of it!

Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman. In Paris before the Nazis marched in. Living and loving. Then they meet again years later. She is in Casablanca with her husband, but she still has eyes for Humphrey.

That’s how it was with Linda and I. No regrets. Give us a kiss, then we won’t see each other again. It was fun while it lasted. We didn’t mean that much to each other. Sound familiar? It’s Humphrey and Ingrid all over again.

I wrote to her the other day about the past. “Do you have any regrets? Was there anything you would have changed about, how it all turned out?”

Dooley Wilson was getting the piano warmed up, and the Nazis were, well, they were doing what Nazis usually did in movies, making lives miserable for the other actors on that back lot in Hollywood.

I waited for her answer. She seemed to hesitate, before answering. Then it came. “Regrets?” “No, I don’t have any regrets, because our lives were fated to be apart”.

Claude Rains wouldn’t have believed her anymore, than he believed Ingrid Bergman. Humphrey Bogart would be fencing with the Nazis. “Why did you come to Casablanca?” Major Strasser asks. “I came for the waters” says Humphrey Bogart. “The waters? Why, we are in a desert” replies Major Strasser. “I was misinformed” says Humphrey  Bogart, without any expression of surprise on his face.

Linda could have asked me for anything, at this stage of the game. “Join me in Michigan, and let us continue where we left off!”

But she didn’t say that. She didn’t, and Ingrid Bergman didn’t say that as well.

“We’ll always have Montebello”, she said, as if anyone other than me would have gotten that connection?

Montebello, I said crushing my imaginary cigarette against my shoe. I would rather be looking up Linda’s old address, but that choice was not mine to make.

Humphrey Bogart turns to Claude Rains and says, “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship”, and they walk away into the fog on the landing bane.

“It’s still the same old story. The fight for love and glory. A case of do or die. The world will always welcome lovers. As time goes by………………”

Source: http://www.reelclassics.com/Movies/Casablanca/astimegoesby-lyrics.htm

 

Leave a Reply

