My Home Town – In So. Cal.

Montebello, California.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-312

That was where I started out in this life.

la-montebello

It even has its own Wiki: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montebello,_California

Close to Downtown LA, only 16 miles/10 km. I even walked there once to visit my first girlfriend at her new job – Right down Skid Row with the Alkies and the Druggies. Good Times!

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-313lithas-camera-first-memory-card-314lithas-camera-first-memory-card-315

The Corner Market where I had to pay for the items with the Rubber Checks my Mother had to write.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-316lithas-camera-first-memory-card-317lithas-camera-first-memory-card-318

La Merced Elementary School. Kindergarten.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-319lithas-camera-first-memory-card-320lithas-camera-first-memory-card-321

My old street. Viewcrest Drive

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-322

The man living in my old house, and I.

img481

My Father’s Toyota Land Cruiser. Early 70s.

60s_821viewcrest

My house. 821 N. Viewcrest Drive in the 1960’s.

 

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-323lithas-camera-first-memory-card-324lithas-camera-first-memory-card-325lithas-camera-first-memory-card-327

The neighbor’s house. It used to belong to the local Real Estate Agent, and the man who gave me tickets to see the LA Rams for my birthday- they won too.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-328lithas-camera-first-memory-card-329lithas-camera-first-memory-card-330

Me and my rental car, standing by the small tree that my mother said, would never amount to anything.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-331lithas-camera-first-memory-card-332

Looking across the street.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-333

And down the block.

lithas-camera-first-memory-card-334lithas-camera-first-memory-card-336lithas-camera-first-memory-card-337lithas-camera-first-memory-card-338lithas-camera-first-memory-card-339lithas-camera-first-memory-card-341lithas-camera-first-memory-card-342lithas-camera-first-memory-card-344

So much for Memory Lane. Goodbye Montebello. I don’t know if I’ll be seeing you again?

2 thoughts on “My Home Town – In So. Cal.

Leave a Reply

