Walking San Francisco – 1

My second day in San Francisco was reserved for walking, then driving. San Remo Hotel graciously stored my baggage, until I returned later in the afternoon, which gave me time to take a “stroll” downtown.

If you ever had the opportunity to play the Microsoft PC game, Midtown Madness, then you’d remember how you could drive through the base of the Trans America Pyramid, smashing the windows and driving to the other side!

pyramid

Screen Shot – Google Maps

That was my immediate goal on the first leg of my walk, and was visibleDSC02089

along most of my route. But let’s not put the cart before the horse, as some might say, because my walk today led me north first, towards Fisherman’s Wharf once again.

DSC02044

My apartment building, where I lived in 1976.

DSC02045

Lost? Look at the sidewalk.

DSC02046DSC02052

Alcatraz Island in the background.                                                                                                    A City Park near Pier 39

DSC02055DSC02056

The entrance to Pier 39.

DSC02057DSC02058

DSC02061DSC02062

Along the Embarcardero.

DSC02070DSC02072

Lombard Street, the curvy part in the far background.

DSC02073DSC02077

Coit Tower to the East.

DSC02078DSC02080

Saint Peter’s and Paul’s Church

Next Blog – Walking San Francisco – 2. Downtown and China Town.

Leave a Reply

