The Pacific Ocean, West of San Francisco

When first my visit to California began, I was at the Pacific Ocean near Santa Monica in Southern California. I’ve moved a bit farther on this blog, having driven up the eastern side of the Golden State, having visited my family and the grand National Park named Yosemite.

cliff house

Source: Google Maps

I drove firstly to Lombard Street and found my way, twisting and turning along the very visited tourist street, before I set my sights for the Pacific Ocean.

IMG_5560

Hyde Street near hotel.

IMG_3573

Near Sutro Baths.

There were no parking spots as I drove by the Cliff House, a historic place being very magical in its setting and its ambience. I’ve shared a drink there with my now deceased sister, as well as my in-laws from Denmark. Just to the north of the Cliff House lie the remains of the Sutro Baths, which became immortalized in the film, “Harold and Maude” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harold_and_Maude).

IMG_3574

I continued to the south coming to a long parking lot which hosted a security guard of sorts. He asked if I were part of the film crew (I should have answered, Yes!”, but as I was taken aback by this question, I said no, which required me to park at the next lot to the south.

DSC02158IMG_5561DSC02157

Shots taken along Ocean Beach.

ocean beach

Source: Google Maps

The green area to the right belongs to Golden Gate Park.

 

IMG_5563IMG_5565

Seal Rocks (whitish color) seen in far background.

IMG_5567IMG_5568

Cliff House visible in background.

And no visit is complete without seeing a Dutch Windmill

IMG_5564

I was looking a bit grizzled at this point in time, and my wife asked, via Messenger, if I had misplaced my razors, which I hadn’t, as seen by this rare photo of yours truly.

me at pacific

After tasting the salty waters of the Pacific Ocean, and wondering when I would see it again, I took a few more photos before setting my course towards the Golden Gate Bridge.

IMG_5572IMG_5570

What is life without curved Graffiti?

IMG_5569

Or Public Notices,

IMG_5574

or, a warning of Rip Currents in English, Chinese, Spanish and Russian.

I did not swim here, nor did I drown, which gave me a bit of time to write my next blog:

Last Look at San Francisco from the north.

 

Leave a Reply

